Tuesday, September 18, 2012

Bueng Kan - 77. and newest province of Thailand - my home province

Bueng Kan (Thai: บึงกาฬ) is the 77th province of the Kingdom of Thailand, established last year 2554 (2011) on and from March 23, 2011. The province of Bueng Kan, consisting of the districts partitioned off from Nong Khai Province, is situated along the Mekong River in the northeastern region of the country, called Isaan. The province is named after its central district, Mueang Bueng Kan.

The province is subdivided into 8 districts (Amphoe). The districts are further subdivided into 54 subdistricts (tambon) and 599 villages (muban).

The districts are:
  • Mueang Bueng Kan
  • Phon Charoen
  • So Phisai
  • Seka
  • Pak Khat
  • Bueng Khong Long
  • Si Wilai
  • Bung Khla
Tourist attractions include: